6 Canadian service members killed in anhelicopter crash to be honoured at CFB Trenton ceremony

The six canadian military members who died in an helicopter crash off the coast of Greece last week Wednesday will be honoured at a repatriation ceremony in Ontario on Today, May 6 .

The ceremony, at CFB Trenton, is set to begin at 2:30 p.m. ET.  Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is expected to be attendance. Family and friends of the service members will have a chance at the ceremony to pay their respects.

The Department of National Defence said Canadian Armed Forces members, with the exception of pallbearers, will practise physical distancing at the ceremony to protect the health of those in attendance.

“Despite the challenges presented by the current COVID-19 environment and the need to maintain physical distancing, 8 Wing/CFB Trenton is committed to a dignified and respectful repatriation for our fallen aviators and sailors,” the department said in an email on Tuesday.

On Wednesday, April 29, the CH-148 Cyclone crashed in the Ionian Sea while taking part in NATO exercises. Defence officials have said it was returning to HMCS Fredericton at the end of a NATO training mission.

The remains of one naval officer, Sub-Lt. Abbigail Cowbrough, were subsequently recovered while the other five service members on board were missing and presumed dead. Cowbrough was a marine systems engineering officer on the HMCS Fredericton and had lived in Dartmouth, N.S., for much of her life.

The other five service members are: Capt. Brenden Ian MacDonald, a pilot originally from New Glasgow, N.S.; Sub-Lt. Matthew Pyke, a naval warfare officer originally from Truro, N.S.; Capt. Kevin Hagen, a pilot originally from Nanaimo, B.C.; Capt. Maxime Miron-Morin, an air combat systems officer originally from Trois-Rivières, Que.; and Master Cpl. Matthew Cousins, an airborne electronic sensor operator originally from Guelph, Ont.

The remains of one other person have been recovered but not yet identified.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *