FG Begins Implementation Of New Visa Policy Fees

The Federal Government has approved implementation of the New Visa Policy (NVP) and New Visa Fees which is based on the principles of reciprocity with effect from Thursday, October 1, 2020.

This was disclosed by the Comptroller General of Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS), Mr. Muhammad Babandede, through a statement by the Service Spokesman, Mr Sunday James on Thursday, September 30, in Abuja.

According to the Immigration helmsman, the implementation of the new visa fees and Nigeria Visa Policy (NVP) 2020 which was launched on February 4, 2020 is based on the reciprocity principle commenced on Thursday.

“The service wishes to inform the general public and the international community of the new visa fees approved by the Minister of Interior, Mr Rauf Aregbesola, which is based on the principles of reciprocity. The service is inviting stakeholders, concerned authorities and individuals to visit the official website of the Service via for full details of the new visa fees for all countries and categories of applicants,” he said.

Notable changes to President Muhammadu Buhari’s 4th February 2020 Nigerian Visa Policy (NVP 2020) include the expansion of the categories of visas from 6 to 79 classes of visas to ensure that visas issued are better matched with the purpose of travel.

Previously, Nigeria six classes of visas include: Transit, Diplomatic, Business, Tourist, Temporary work permit (TWP), Subject to Regularisation (STR)

However, Nigeria’s Visa 2020 Policy comprised three broad categories, which are the Short Visit Visas (SVV), Temporary Resident Visa (TRV) and Permanent Resident Visa (PRV).

The visa expansion, Babandede said once in a forum,  would enable Nigeria to resolve the age-long issue of wrong classifications and validity of visas granted foreigners coming to Nigeria and reposition the nation’s immigration practice to serve the current needs on integration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *